Skip to content

Week of Action: Events

Events, by state:

Colorado
AFSCME
Skuyler Johnson
cjohnston@afscme.org
573-355-0578
Tuesday 5/25    Press conference

Colorado
AFSCME
Courtney Weaver
cweaver@afscme.org
916-494-3325
Monday 5/24    Press conference

Florida
Consumer Action Network
USAction/USAEF
Tim Heberlein
tim@fcan.org
813-877-6712
Friday 5/28/10 at 4:30pm: “Tampa, University Area Community Center”
FCAN is coordinating with the Florida Center for Fiscal and Economic Policy as well as Democracia and the NAACP to host an educational training about how federal tax policy affects our state budgets and disproportionately affects low-income and minority communities.

Florida
Consumer Action Network
USAction/USAEF
Tim Heberlein
tim@fcan.org
813-877-6712
First week of June
Tampa
FCAN is collaborating with Democracia to organize a speaking/educational event to encourage their membership to complete the census forms and the Federal monies that would benefit them if they do.

Georgia
Rural/Urban Summit
USAction/USAEF
Larry Pellegrini
lobbywatch@aol.com
404-522-4787
26-May
Atlanta

Illinois
Citizen Action/Illinois
USAction/USAEF
John Gaudette
john@citizenaction-il.org
312-427-2114
May 17 and 18
Citizen Action/Illinois is working with the responsible budget coalition to do a series of press conferences focused on the Illinois budget crisis prior to the delegation going back.  Will highlight the need for jobs and structural deficit issues.

Indiana
AFSCME
Hannah Lloyd
hlloyd@afscme.org
434-238-2194
Week of May 24

Iowa

Iowa Citizen Action Network

USAction/USAEF

Amy Logsdon

mailto:alogsdon@iowacan.org

319-354-8116

Tuesday, May 25, 9 – 11 am

Waterloo, Talk Shop Café, 1015 E 4th St

ICAN is doing an economic justice/tax train-the-trainer with the local economic justice partners.

Iowa

Iowa Citizen Action Network

USAction/USAEF

Amy Logsdon

alogsdon@iowacan.org

319-354-8116

Wednesday, May 26, 9 – 11 am

Des Moines, Mickle Center, 1620 Pleasant St

ICAN is doing an economic justice/tax train-the-trainer with the local economic justice partners.

Iowa

Iowa Citizen Action Network

USAction/USAEF

Amy Logsdon

alogsdon@iowacan.org

319-354-8116

Thursday, May 27, 9 – 11 am

Iowa City, 123 South Linn Street (Public Library)

ICAN is doing an economic justice/tax train-the-trainer with the local economic justice partners.

Maine

Main People’s Alliance

USAction/USAEF

Genevieve Lysen

gen@mainepeoplesalliance.org

Monday, May 24, 3 pm

TBD

Students and MPA members engage in their third week of signiture gathering in support of the community jobs bill. They have been and will be talking to un and underemployed people at temp work agencies and career centers in the area. Each round of signiture gathering we have included drop-in visits to Rep. Michaud’s office to encourage him to sign-on as a co-sponsor on the Local Jobs for America Act. We plan to include a press element this last round on Monday the 24th and deliver the stack of signitures to Representaive Michaud’s office.

Michigan

Citizen Action
USAction/USAEF
Adam Knott
aknott@michcitizenaction.org
269-349-9170
Week of May 24
MCA is doing an economic justice/tax training of the state budget coalition.

Missouri
Missouri Pro Vote
USAction/USAEF
Julie Terbrock
Julie@missouriprovote.org
314-531-2288
25-May
600 West Main Street, Jefferson City
Pro Vote and AFSCME to are organizing a press conference around raising revenue to support public services.

Nevada
AFSCME
Daniel Trubman
dtrubman@afscme.org
215-350-7054
Week of May 24
Carson City

Nevada
AFSCME
Anna Veverka
aveverka@afscme.org
510-861-0439
Week of May 24
Las Vegas

Ohio
Progress Ohio
USAction/USAEF
Coby Williams
coby@progressohio.org
614-441-9145
Week of May 24
Columbus
ProgressOhio is organizing a letter-to-the-editor campaign and soliciting stories from individuals hit hardest by the economic crisis.

Ohio
AFSCME
Phil Freedman
pfreedman@afscme.org
402-217-8957
TBS    Akron
Press conference

Pennsylvania
Penn Action
USAction/USAEF
Robin Stelly
rstelly@pennaction.org
267-240-9819
25-May
Doylestown
Penn Action is working with the Southeast budget coalition to draw the connection between the state and federal budgets.

Rhode Island
Ocean State Action
USAction/USAEF
Peter Asen
peter@oceanstateaction.org
401-463-5368
Week of May 24
Providence
OSA is planning an earned media event at the state house.

Wisconsin
Citizen Action of Wisconsin
USAction/USAEF
Brian Rothgery
brian.rothgery@citizenactionwi.org
414-746-4501
June 3, 10:30am CST
Milwaukee
Citizen Action of Wisconsin is hosting a press conference with Rep. Gwen Moore, at a facility that received ARRA funding. The event will promote the success of the ARRA and call for additional action in congress. ARRA fund recipients will share stories. Coalition partners will speak. Citizen Action of Wisconsin will coordinate the event and emcee.

West Virginia
West Virginia Citizen Action
USAction/USAEF
Gary Zuckett
garyz@wvcag.org
304-346-5891
Week of May 24
Charleston
WVCAG is organizing a press conference with WV United.